My wife stopped by the local library the other day to gather up some books she requested to be placed on hold.  The library was giving away copies of Ray Bradbury’s classic Fahrenheit 451.  Ashamedly I have not read this work, and am quite excited to have it in my house.  I now have no excuse for putting it off any longer.  Indeed it’s one of the many books on my list to get around to.  Another is Melville’s Moby Dick.  I have started reading that one but only on line.  It’s not the kind of book I want to read on a computer screen.  So I will have to blow the dust off of my library card and find a copy of it.  Slaughterhouse 5 is another work I am remiss in reading.  My wife was taken aback when she learned that I had not read these classics, need I say she was disappointed by my naiveté in literature matters. I was and am embarrassed to admit the same but it’s true.

I am going to make it a point to read books that are considered to be so dangerous that they need to be banned. I think I will start with Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison. This work has been banned by a North Carolina school board. Incidentally this book too is being given away to anyone that wants a copy of it. Something that is undercutting the stupidity on display by the above said school board. The fracus began when one mother complained that the book was too much for teenagers. . . not so innocent. I gather this bint doesn’t watch TV? She has never really read the bible thats for sure. If she had she would have a good standard for what filth really is. I suspect the only bible mommy ever reads is the Zondervan kiddie bible. But thats not all, one board member stated that he didn’t find any literary value in it at all. Is it possible to test for troglodyte genes in his DNA? Really no literary value at all. It was named by the Library of Congress as one of the “Books That Shaped America; and thats no small feat. Nevertheless, and you knew that this was coming.

A fierce backlash by hundreds of citizens, including the county’s chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, has prompted the board to reconsider the ban at a special meeting called for Wednesday evening, board member Matthew Lambeth told Reuters.
Insisting that he and the other board members who supported the ban were not “a bunch of racist, ignorant bigots,” Lambeth said he was happy to revisit the book’s status after gathering more input from the community during the past week.
“I think the board might have been a little too hasty to make the decision,” Lambeth said, adding he did not know yet whether he would change his vote.

Mr. Lambeth if you have to say it, and you did. Perhaps you’re are correct, you and the other board members are not a bunch of racist ignorant bigots. Knuckledraging, lying, cheating, stealing, thieving, backstabbing bunch of racist, fascist christians shitstains maybe but not simple, ignorant and racist bigots no, not any of that.
So I will be reading this and other banned books. I really prize works that have strong literary value.

