Daphne the Inflatable Duck is Safe

A giant yellow inflatable duck believed to have been missing at sea off Western Australia for almost a week was actually found making a break for Rottnest Island by a local fisherman just hours after being swept away. . .

I’d love to have this duck,  an am very glad for the Cockburn Masters Swimming Club.  According to the linked article Daphne, is this years mascot for the Jetty to Jetty Swim. For me the sight of this big bright yellow duck was love at first sight.  Both my daughter and I love “duckies”.

 

A giant inflatable duck is towed behind a boat in the ocean, slightly deflated. Thank you Toby Gibb.

“Daphne” the duck was spotted by Toby Gibb near Rottnest after he went fishing with his mate early on the morning of March 11.

“I found it an hour after it went missing,” he said.

“No-one knew about a missing duck at that point, we didn’t know where did it come from.

Daphne had made it about 30 kilometers, that’s about 18.6 miles to us Yanks, out to sea before being apprehended by Mr. Gibb.  The club is now engaged negotiations to get her safely back.

I imagine this will be very good, free publicity for the club, and it certainly paints Mr. Gibb in a good light.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Martin Rolfe

I studied political science at the University of Wisconsin Whitewater, Wisconsin USA. Minoring in criminal justice. Both of these fields of study pushed me to develop critical higher order thinking skills.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.